New owner clutch, gear shift and cold starting questions

Discuss everything about Honda GoldWing. Feel free to ask any question related to GoldWing.

Moderators: CYBORG, Oldewing, robin1731, Forum Moderators

mgb1100gl
Rusty Probie
Rusty Probie

New owner clutch, gear shift and cold starting questions

Post by mgb1100gl »

Hello from a new member. I have a 1979 GL1000 that I have questions about. This is my first year riding it.
First, when the engine is cold, the shifter and clutch work quietly and smoothly. As the engine warms up, a few miles, the gears seem not to completely disengage when I pull in the clutch, and the gearbox makes a "clunk" sound when going from neutral to first, or from second to first to neutral. This does not happen every time but often enough that I am curious. My other bike (Moto Guzzi Breva 1100) has a loud shift but that is apparently normal for that bike.
Second question: the bike can be very difficult to start when it has been setting for a few days or longer, and once started it spits and sputters and backfires for a few minutes. I've learned to start it up well in advance of wanting to ride and letting it warm up for maybe three-to-five minutes once the spit/sputter has died down. Is that typical of these old goldwings? I live in central Pennsylvania and cool weather is arriving so I suspect this may get worse.
Sagebrush
Run Executive
Run Executive
My Album: http://www.ngwclub.com/gallery/v/wingmans/album269/

Re: New owner clutch, gear shift and cold starting questions

Post by Sagebrush »

Second question: the bike can be very difficult to start when it has been setting for a few days or longer, and once started it spits and sputters and backfires for a few minutes.