Cooling and charging issues

Discuss everything about Honda GoldWing. Feel free to ask any question related to GoldWing.

Moderators: CYBORG, Oldewing, robin1731, Forum Moderators

Koboldwrangler
Cast Iron Member
Cast Iron Member

Cooling and charging issues

Post by Koboldwrangler »

Hello--

I'm pretty sure this has been discussed multiples times across different threads, but I just want a sanity check since I am new to goldwings.

Picked up a pair of titled '78 gl1000's for $500. Been working on the burgandy one as its the lower mileage of the two, and is visually in better shape. However, after tearing into it, the bike basically needed one of everything.

After taking it on its maiden voyage, two issues have cropped up.

1: After ~10 minutes of riding, the temp will creep up to the blank square just behind the red line. I rode it like this for about 12 miles as it would fluctuate between the high up in the white area and just below the blank square. My luck ran out shortly after when coolant started overflowing onto the engine and hitting the exhaust (big surprise). The system was bled of air, the fan is working as I can feel air getting pulled through the radiator, and the top of the radiator was scalding hot. I am going to presume that my water pump is shot and needs to be replaced?

2: Also while I was riding back from getting coffee, I noticed my battery gauge was dropping. With a semi-fresh battery, the gauge only read~ 11 volts, though a DMM said it was ~12.5v (yes, that is rather low.) With the bike idling(and before departing on my short trip), it said 12.5, and revving the motor brought it to 12.6v. Of all the goldwings that have had charging issues, what is usually the #1 cause? I know I need to check for the ~50v ac from each leg on the stator, though thats where my knowledge on what to check stops.
Attachments
20220402_232803_HDR.jpg
20220402_232803_HDR.jpg (265.76 KiB) Viewed 978 times
20220403_142217_HDR.jpg