Feel free to introduce yourself, tell us about your bike or just say hello. Members, say Hello and Welcome to our new members.

Moderators: Neil, redwood, rcmatt007, Forum Moderators

StjohnT
Lead Member
Lead Member

Post by StjohnT »

Hello and thanks for letting me join. I've read a lot of the articles and they have all been very helpful. I am the owner of a 82 gl1100I. It was giving to me by a friend who couldn't get the rear brakes to release after a botched brake job. Lucky me. Im not an expert mechanic but that was a pretty easy fix. As a matter of fact I had them released in his driveway and rolled it right up onto the trailer. Got it home started tearing into it and I've rode it for 2 summers now. Love the bike.

So about a month ago I was heading home and a dog ran out in front of me and I laid it over. It hit pretty hard. After a quick self check and once over on the bike I started it up and headed for home. Everything sounded fine a d it wasn't smoking. The weather turned nasty quick after that so I hadn't rode again. Well a couple days ago was kind of nice out. went out to go for a ride and found my bikeso sitting in a huge puddle of coolant. I couldn't tell where it was ciming from so i fired it up let it warm up and noticed white smoke coming from under the left side of the engine where the exhaust goes into the engine and I noticed coolant dripping off the threads that mount the exhaust. Now there was minimal smoke from the exhaust when I first started but it cleared up fast and it was cold out. I checked the oil and coolant and both seem fine as far as being contaminated but the reservoir was completely empty.

So does anybody have any idea what could be causing the leak and what I can do to fix it. I've put alot of time into it and hate thinking it may be done for. Im confident I could do the head gaskets if need be but would like a second opinion before I tear into a project like that. thanks in advance and sorry for the lengthy post.
CYBORG