Dual Weber temptation

From basic novice to the hard core cutomizing. Sharing tips, tricks and knowledge. Feel
free to ask question or give us your "2 cents".

Moderators: sunnbobb, Neil, Forum Moderators

Spanky
Rusty Probie
Rusty Probie

Dual Weber temptation

Post by Spanky »

Greetings everyone, this topic will serve as my introduction to the Club and a short rambling of the running/riding project I have acquired dubbed the "What-the-Heck Cycle."

I love old unique bikes(cars,trucks), factory just does't appeal to me very much so when I saw a GL1100 stripped down like an old Harley bagger my interest was peaked. Next thing you know its in my driveway. However the bike had "something wrong with the carb rack" so naturally I took this as an opportunity to do some minor upgrades.

I have successfully removed the carbs, fabricated my own manifolds (I am a certified welder with access to a CNC laser and CAD software, so that helped a lot), and grabbed two knock off Weber IDF 40s from eBay and got busy. The linkage consists of components from Summit in a cross-bar design. My first truck was a 1980 Datsun 720 that I had put a knock off Weber conversion on with decent success so I felt comfortable with the project. Plus I have read nearly every thread on this board relating to dual carb conversions.

After a quick sync (so much easier to sync than OE carbs) and minor idle screw adjustment I had it idling nearly perfect, all cylinders pull between 4.5 and 5.5 mmHg, throttle response is amazing, revs are really quick and snappy. Overall I was very happy.