Another side stand switch

Post your "How To", or share tips and tricks about maintenance related to four cylinder Wings. Only registered users can read this forum.

Moderators: Whiskerfish, Forum Moderators

Jetubet
Titanium Member
Titanium Member

Another side stand switch

Post by Jetubet »

This is my first attempt at a how-to on here. I wanted to install a buzzer and have the side stand switch difficult to see. The switch pivots with the side stand instead of mounting the switch and letting the stand come into contact with it. No holes were drilled into the bike. I'm not sure this is the best way. It's just one way. Maybe others will get ideas from it. We love pictures.

Here's a short parts list. A buzzer, Switches, and Wire. All from Radio Shack. Less than 20 bucks. And some sheet metal stock I had, part of an old traffic sign.

ImageImageImage

Here's the side stand with the peg removed and the side stand removed.
Image Image

Fabricating the switch mount from some sheet stock. The cutting wheel pic is just to get the idea, don't worry about my foot.
Image Image Image

Drilling the hole for the pivot bolt. Filing, mounting and bending tabs. The finished mount before paint.
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Soldering wires, heat shrink tubing.
Image Image Image

Switch installed in mount. Mount installed on side stand.
Image Image Image Image Image Image

The power came off the accessory terminal at the fuse block. The buzzer had to be moved because where it is in this pic the tank shelter frame rested on it. There is an inline fuse 3A on this setup. I want to add a light later, the buzzer isn't loud enough, I guess I'll change it too.
Image Image Image